Simple Question - Cannot Move an object

General discussion about the R.U.B.E editor
jaxily

Simple Question - Cannot Move an object

Post by jaxily »

Hello I am new to Rube and frustrated that something so simple isn't clear. I am trying to move an object, yet just move an object by dragging it over like one would expect.

1. Started a new project
2. moved a few images on the the page
3. click on an image to make it with a yellow box
4. cannot move the damn things for the life of me...

Using a mac with Rube 1.3.1. I just tried this on my PC as well an I am unable to drag a object around. I saw it was possible in the tutorial 03 - Edit modes.mp4 (44.3 MB).

Please help!
Last edited by jaxily on Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:34 am, edited 2 times in total.
tescott

Re: Simple Question - Cannot Move an object

Post by tescott »

Hit "T" to "translate" and then move your mouse. After you get it in the correct position, click the left mouse button to set the new position.

If you have the Context Help displayed, it will show you the available commands depending on what you are currently doing.

--tim
jaxily

Post by jaxily »

Thanks Tim, that worked. I didn't see that "T" command so thanks for that. Curios why Rube doesn't work like every other application....select area, then click and drag to move. Simpler than pressing T all the time. Best
iforce2d
Site Admin

Post by iforce2d »

... like every other application
RUBE works the same as Blender does. But you are right, this control method is in the minority for sure.
...select area, then click and drag to move. Simpler than pressing T all the time.
Once you already have something selected, the location of it on the screen is a redundant piece of information when it comes to manipulating it. Is it really easier to move the mouse over it a second time (requiring finely detailed hand-eye coordination and risk losing the selection if missed by a few pixels) than to just hit a key?