R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Report problems here (or use the built-in feedback dialog in the editor)
Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:39 am

Hello,
I've got a problem with the editor.
The editor don't start correctly. Some buttons are missing, when I use the space-button there is the message "No actions registered" and there is an error message in the log "Could not find help file rubehelp_en.qhc"
I got this problem since the update to osx 10.9
Thanks for help
Hendrik

iforce2d
Site Admin
Posts: 860
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by iforce2d » Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:43 pm

Hi Hendrik

I think the answer is here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=84

Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:24 pm

Unfortunately this is not the answer. But the problem looks the same.
If I download rube and open it everything works fine but if I what to start it another time I got this problem.... I can do what I what :?
If I don't move the folders there is the problem, if I move all the files to the application folder there is the same
It's curious

Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:26 pm

On OS X 10.8 everything works fine....

iforce2d
Site Admin
Posts: 860
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by iforce2d » Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:12 pm

Hendrik wrote:If I don't move the folders there is the problem, if I move all the files to the application folder there is the same
I'm not really sure what you mean there...

So if you simply download the the app and run it twice, the second time you have this problem? Or is it only a problem after you move files around?

If you put all the files back to where they were when you first downloaded them, does it work ok again?

It sounds like the working directory for the app is not being set correctly. I don't have 10.9 to try myself, but I think you could workaround this by opening a terminal, cd to the folder where the app, the config folder and rubehelp_en.* files are located together, and type:

open R.U.B.E.app

Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:24 pm

Sorry my english is not the best...
Yes if I simply download the app and run it twice, the second time I have this problem?
Than it looks like this: (hopefully you can see the picture)
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 17.23.12.png
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 17.23.12.png (132.19 KiB) Viewed 20064 times
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 17.17.48.png
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 17.17.48.png (86.1 KiB) Viewed 20064 times

iforce2d
Site Admin
Posts: 860
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by iforce2d » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:09 pm

So you just run it twice without moving any files around, and you get different results??
If so, I have no ideas... that is really really weird.

By the way, it looks like the sql dylib needed to actually load the help files has not been found in both of your screenshots, so that indicates that something is wrong even the first time you run it. (You can tell this by the small white rectangle in the upper left which shows for some reason when that dylib is not found.)

Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:30 pm

Both pictures show the second time
Yes it's weird
It's exactly like you say if I run it twice without moving anything there is the problem
Here is a picture of downloading and opening it the first time
I think that looks normal and everything works fine
but I can't run it a second time
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 18.28.11.png
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-29 um 18.28.11.png (170.7 KiB) Viewed 20062 times

iforce2d
Site Admin
Posts: 860
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:20 pm

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by iforce2d » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:12 pm

It seems that many Qt apps are having problems with OSX 10.9, and this problem is probably caused by changes to how the operating system starts applications.
https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-34300
I wonder what the point of this change could possibly be?? Apple's developers seem to have total disregard for how tweaking things like this will wreak havoc all over the world...

Unfortunately I don't have 10.9 yet myself to check with (and probably safer not to get it for now :D )
Did you try my suggestion about starting the program from a terminal? According to the thread in that link, you can also start it like this, from the directory where the app is located:

./R.U.B.E.app/Contents/MacOS/rube

Hendrik
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:29 am

Re: R.U.B.E bug OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by Hendrik » Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:55 pm

Yes I tried to open it from the terminal...
there is no different
So I think there is no simple solution
I don't know how rube find the paths of this files but I think this have to be adjusted in the source code of rube.

Unfortunately this problem is very annoying :oops:
thanks for help :D
or maybe you can find a solution
(yes if you want to work with rube... don't update to 10.9!!! ;) )

Post Reply