Tilting vehicles

General discussion about Box2D tutorials
vkreal

Tilting vehicles

Post by vkreal »

I am very new to box2d, can anyone give an ideas/suggestions on how to tilt a vehicle(motorcycle) up/down when in the air?

Thanks!
iforce2d
Site Admin

Re: Tilting vehicles

Post by iforce2d »

You can use a small ApplyTorque to turn the main body.
vkreal

Post by vkreal »

iforce thanks for your suggestion. I am trying to balance a motorcycle on rear wheel simulating a wheely. The problem i am having is when using ApplyTorque not sure when to stop apply force to balance the motorcycle. any ideas? maybe ApplyTorque is wrong approach in this case.

Many thanks!
iforce2d
Site Admin

Post by iforce2d »

Yeah it's a lot harder than they make it look on TV that's for sure. I could only ever do it for a few seconds, even when I had a bike that was quite good for wheelies. These days I just have a little scooter so it's not gonna happen at all with that.

oh... you were still talking about Box2D? :) I think the basic idea remains the same as in the topic here: http://www.iforce2d.net/b2dtut/rotate-to-angle
You need to look at the current angular velocity, as well as the current angle. If the body is already rotating toward the angle you want, then you can apply less torque.
vkreal

Post by vkreal »

:) awesome iforce! I will give it a try.
vkreal

Post by vkreal »

Hi Iforce2d,

I am trying to achieve same precise(smooth) using accelerometer In your game Downhill Supreme especially controlling player titling. can you give any pointers how to achieve this? i tried using http://www.iforce2d.net/b2dtut/rotate-to-angle but doesnt seem to work that great for me, maybe its the way i implemented it.

Thanks!
iforce2d
Site Admin

Post by iforce2d »